American Great Lakes Ports Association Press Release - Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation Announces Pacesetter Award Winners for 2014 Navigation Season

WASHINGTON, D.C. (March 24, 2015) – The U.S. Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) today announced that seven U.S. ports in the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway System are receiving the prestigious Robert J. Lewis Pacesetter Award for registering increases in international cargo tonnage shipped through their ports during the 2014 navigation season compared to the previous year.

Posted on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

The seven winners of the Pacesetter Award for 2014 are: the Port of Indiana - Burns Harbor, the Port of Erie, the Port of Duluth-Superior, the Port of Milwaukee, the Port of Cleveland, the Port of Toledo, and the Port of Oswego.

“The Great Lakes Seaway System realized a 7.6 percent tonnage increase from 2013 to 2014, a strong performance that reflects the increasing strength of the overall economy,” said SLSDC Administrator Betty Sutton. “Marine transportation remains a catalyst for jobs and productivity for the local economies where these ports are situated and throughout the Great Lakes region.”

Commodities accounting for almost all of the increases in international cargo handled by the seven Pacesetter port winners included asphalt, petroleum products, aluminum, steel, and grain.

High value project cargo such as locomotive cars, electrical transformers and fermentation tanks were also handled during the 2014 navigation season.

The American Great Lakes Ports Association represents the public port authorities on the United States side of the Great Lakes. Each of the member port agencies is a division of state or local government, or an independent agency created by state statute. As a group, and individually, Great Lakes ports work to foster maritime commerce in the region and economic development in their communities.

top menu Back to Top